Lee Whitney Award

The Lee Whitney Newcomer of the Year Award is named in honor of Lee Whitney, a member of the UVA class of 1969,  former WUVA President, and a longtime WUVA Board member and contributor to the continuing success of WUVA. The Whitney award annually recognizes that student from the year’s incoming volunteer class whose outstanding contributions, leadership and commitment to WUVA merit special recognition. Past recipients include two recent WUVA Presidents, Phineas Alexander and Kyra Min, two WUVA Sports Directors and Summer Intern Leaders, Matthew Newton and Dylan Castagne, and former Summer Intern Leader and Current President, Nicole Chang.